Iann Dior’s “Industry Plant” Review

Iann Dior’s debut album, Industry Plant.

Genius, Iann Dior, TenThousand Projects

Iann Dior’s debut album, Industry Plant.

David Rowe, Staff Writer

Iann Dior is a rapper, singer, and songwriter born in Puerto Rico and raised in Corpus Christi, Texas. He has recently gained a following through his breakout tracks, “emotions” and “gone girl.” Diorr released his debut album, Industry Plant, on Friday. Here’s the breakdown:

  1. Darkside (feat. Travis Barker) 

“Darkside” is a solid fast-paced track to kick off the album. 

Score: 7/10

  1. Problems

“Problems” is an upbeat track in which Dior presents a new flow unlike any of his other songs.

Score: 7/10

  1. gone girl (feat. Trippie Redd)

“gone girl” was the first single for Industry Plant and has amassed over 40 million streams on Soundcloud.

Score: 10/10

  1. WYA

Noticeably very bass-heavy, “WYA” is a darker, slow-paced song. 

Score: 4/10

  1. what is real

Backed by a soft piano melody, “what is real” has an “18” feel.

Score: 7/10

  1. Flowers

The first of six tracks produced by Nick Mira, “Flowers” is a pretty standard Iann Dior song.

Score: 7/10

  1. Strings

“Strings” was the second single for the album. As soon as the beat comes in you already know Gunna will be featured. Solid collab.

Score: 9/10

  1. Lately

On “Lately,” Dior switches up his signature electric guitar beat and throws a curveball by bringing in an acoustic instead. 

Score: 8/10

  1. Urself (feat. POORSTACY)

“Urself” has a more emo-rock feel than the rest of the album, with a strong rock influence.

Score: 5/10

  1. In Too Deep

“In Too Deep” is a slower-paced track that features a peaceful distorted guitar melody.

Score: 6/10

  1. Searching (feat. Phem)

“Searching” is another Nick Mira produced track that has the standard Iann Dior feel.

Score: 6/10

  1. Needed

“Needed” is another acoustic guitar-based track and while it’s one of the shorter songs on the album, it’s one of the best. 

Score: 8/10

  1. Never Is Enough

While “Never Is Enough” is one of the faster-paced songs on the album, Dior stays true to his sad boy persona over yet another guitar-based beat.

Score: 9/10

  1. Feel It Coming

“Feel It Coming” is a repetitive track that doesn’t stand out when compared to the others on the album.

Score: 5/10

  1. Stay For A While 

“Stay For A While” is the fifteenth and final track on the album. Another acoustic guitar, another Nick Mira production credit, and a slidey guitar solo. This song finishes the album on a positive note. 

Score: 8/10 


Fueled by guitar melodies and sad lyrics, Iann Dior did not disappoint with his debut album.

Album Score: 8/10